Analysis of 10U DD Swing

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 9, 2009
SoCal - OC
My wife hates this time of year (season starts in 2 weeks) because I am spending way too much time learning from the folks on this site. With that said I have posted two clips of 10U DD, one softtoss and one off T. Any comments would be great. Only Softoss is at 1/2 speed.

MDG

Jul 11, 2009
I am by no means a hitting expert, that is why I take my daughter to one. But I will take a stab and get it started. Looks like a powerful swing but she drops her hands and has classic bat drag. Not much bat angle if any and finishs by wrapping bat across the back of her shoulders instead of finishing high. Looks like her hands are too high to begin with which is probably the cause of her dropping her hands to get leverage and swing for all its worth, which is what she is doing. Look at the expression on her face, gotta love it. Also thought she was simply squishing bug but if you stop it close to contact it appears that she is up on her toes and then settles back onto her foot after contact. I am sure others will chime in soon. Good Luck.

Hitter

Banned
Dec 6, 2009
I would start with bending at the waist first and then softening the knees more.

Next have her stride more forward as she is stepping out. I cut up old rubber bat mats so they have a line of force to see where they are actually stepping. Chalk works well also and do not use a bat as they could roll an ankle. I have a 4 x 4 that they kick or bump into that works also that I use at the house.