? About Pitcher position being in batting order

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 7, 2012
South carolina
I am new to fastpitch so I'm sure this is a lame question, but is there a time where if you are a pither that yoy are no longer allowed to hit so you focus only on pitching? My daughter is 9 and has expressed a desire to pitch but I want her to know that she might not be able to play on the offensive side at some point. I know at the college level that pitcher no longer hit. Is there a time in travel ball where the pitcher only plays defense? Thank you!

Mar 8, 2012
A good hitting pitcher can and will hit up and through college. Looking at UF, their two main pitchers are Hannah Rodgers and Lauren Hauger. Lauren is in the batting lineup everyday, regardless of her pitching, playing 1st, or DH. Hannah on the other hand only pitches. Just depends on the talent of the pitcher.

One note- Lauren has exceptional power.

Apr 25, 2010
A large number of college pitchers hit. Also, just because your DD gets recruited by a college and she's a pitcher, doesn't mean she will pitch for that school. A huge number of college players were pitchers growing up. Work that offense!!

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
Our family runs into a time and money issue.

DD does not have enough time to work on pitching and everything else, we do not have enough money to give her productive lessons in everything.

DD is working on pitching, other players are working their blank off at hitting.

If she is dedicated to softball she can do it all, not for us.

Jul 26, 2010
There is a DP/Flex rule in softball, that allows for one player to play defense only and one player to play offense only. If a kid is a phenomenal pitcher but can't hit the broad side of a beachball with a bat, there is a rule that would allow her to continue to play.