Disgusted and Frustrated, your thoughts and help for future! (Please)

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 24, 2009
Im a high school Softball Coach in Texas who also coaches football. Before a promotion in football many years ago I was coaching 14U, 16U, 18U Summer ball and I had alot my players playing for me. Some years went reallt well other years went really bad since my team was made up of girls that werent getting the chance to play with the "good" teams.

Anyway, Ive got a girl who just graduated last weekend and has no place to play in college. He select coach was always laughing at her because she was playing for a "private school" and we didnt play anyone and thats why "your hitting so well." I was always fixing her swing during our off-season because her so called select "coach" had it all jacked up! This team never did anything for her to find a school, I did all the work but as we all know "college coaches dont return a high school coaches phone calls" no matter what level. Im also the Associate Head Coach of Strenght and Comditioning at our school and her numbers in all test were unreal all 4 years. She was just forced to quit her team because they wouldnt play her or even give her the reps and work that she would need to try and walk-on somewhere.:mad:

I know as with high school coaches they are all not perfect, but how can people put so much stock into a select " coach" only coaches all-star teams year round. I know what your gonna say "you have better competition in the summer" very true, but it also up to the high school coach to make sure he goes and schedules the best teams.