Hello and help

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 22, 2024
Hello i am new to softball coaching but not new to coaching. I'm a former baseball player who is now coaching my daughters 10u team. I have years of coaching football experience but this is my first year officially coaching softball (last year they asked me to 'help out').

I found this forum because i have no idea how to teach windmill pitching, and neither do my other coaches. I was a baseball pitcher so i know there are some skills that translate but i've been watching videos and seeking resources to fill the gaps in my knowledge.

My daughter is a lefty and i believe she has the talent to be a pretty good pitcher. Her main issue is pitch-to-pitch consistency. I've been trying to get her to work on her windup to develop the muscle memory because it seems that when she thinks too much she gets really wild.

We also have 2 other girls who are talented. I believe they are all struggling because they are not getting effective coaching.

I will be looking at these forums for relevant topics but if anyone has any helpful links to share it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks everyone!

Last edited:
Jun 18, 2023
Welcome! where at?

There's lots of info here to peruse, I'm a year ahead of you in terms of learning pitching, and I've learned a ton. I'm basically the de facto pitching coach for our 10u (really 3rd/4th) team now.

The two things that seem most important getting started is getting that whip/release right at the hip, which seems to take a ton of reps for any reliability, and staying back/tall when they land/step. Third might be opening/closing of the hips. Almost every kid seems to struggle with the strength to get it 35", and you're really just building up strength/mechanics so that they do it right, and not faking it with big arcs and late releases that you have to fix later.