Plate hitting position opinions?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Plate hitting position

• Total voters
Feb 17, 2014
Orlando, FL
What pitch is being thrown? Are runners on base?... I do not see a right answer. If I have speed on 1st and the pitcher is throwing drops I want them in the hitter in the back of the box. If nobody on I may prefer they move up. Lots of factors to take into consideration.

Most important I want the hitter in their comfort zone. I often see coaches forcing a hitter to the front/back of the box based on their own infinite wisdom. Even through in the thousands of swings in practice the kid has never come off a neutral position. As a pitching coach I want the hitter out of their comfort zone. Big shout out to all of the coaches who make that happen before the pitch is even thrown. :)

radness

Possibilities & Opportunities!
Dec 13, 2019
To each their own.
Different bodies, brains and mechanics.
That and
Not all hits come off strikes.

Me hitting,
Very front.
Back foot was in front of the plate.
Stood both feet about 5 inches
(Hands width)
off the inside line. Squared to the plate.

Reason simply said
'Have to throw it by me to get a strike.'

WOOHOO PITCH IT!
💪🫀

May 27, 2013
My did is a switch-hitter. Slaps from the left. Sets up even with the plate from both sides. Posted because there was no option.

Jan 28, 2017
To each their own.
Different bodies, brains and mechanics.
That and
Not all hits come off strikes.

Me hitting,
Very front.
Back foot was in front of the plate.
Stood both feet about 5 inches
(Hands width)
off the inside line. Squared to the plate.

Reason simply said
'Have to throw it by me to get a strike.'

WOOHOO PITCH IT!
💪🫀