Who knows the call signs between pitcher and catcher

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 26, 2022
Hi Everyone,

Thank you in advance for your help and for helping a novice with a few questions. Complete transparency, I am an author and I am currently writing a mystery novel for kids with a high stakes softball game as the backdrop. I want to make sure that what I write is correct.

I need to know a little more about signal theft between the pitcher and the catcher. I'm curious as to how many of the players are privy to, or know all of the signs that are sent between the pitcher and the catcher. Does the entire team know all of the calls? Or is it just the team members that would be playing those positions? What is the penalty if another team is caught cheating?

Thank you so much!

In kindness
Thomas Lockhaven

May 17, 2012
Typically it's just the pitcher, catcher, and coach that are involved in calling pitches. Defensive players may have their own signs for bunt coverages and stolen bases for example that is separate from pitch calling.

A lot of teams use wristbands to communicate pitches and or defense.

There is no penalty for "stealing" signs during the game if it's done organically.

Apr 26, 2022
Typically it's just the pitcher, catcher, and coach that are involved in calling pitches. Defensive players may have their own signs for bunt coverages and stolen bases for example that is separate from pitch calling.

A lot of teams use wristbands to communicate pitches and or defense.

There is no penalty for "stealing" signs during the game if it's done organically.
Thank you so much. Yes, I've been researching the wristbands and the new digital system used by the Major Leagues, pretty interesting! So, just to clarify, the pitcher, catcher and coach are generally the only ones that know all of the signs (or perhaps have memorized them).