Does the nicer kind of bat you have help you hit the ball better?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Im a beginner player, and I bat with a 2004 Worth bat that I got from a sporting goods store for $30 (it's my first bat and I'm proud of it and it was a good deal) If I were to get like a Demarini for x-mas (the new ones that go for about $200) would it hit better than my bargain shoppers dream bat? :) Don't get me wrong I have had a lot of success with the bat I have now.

Sep 6, 2009
State of Confusion
No, it wont help you hit it better. It may help you hit it farther, it will be hotter coming off the bat which gives an edge in getting it past infielders. The sweetspot is larger so more hits are hot, but its not a magic solution to "better" hitting. 98% of hitting is in swing mechanics and how solid the contact is with the ball (practice!) in the first place.

But, nearly everone has composite bat, and you will understandably want one to feel like part of the "club". It is ridiculously overpriced for what it is too, but that doesnt stop anyone. Many are quite fragile, some are known to crack and break frequently, most arent supposed to be used in cold weather, or with machines, or rubber practice balls (but everyone does anyway) so do your research before spending that kind of $$ on a bat. A 1 yr old model of a very good proven bat can be found on ebay new (dealer clearance) sometimes for far less than retail, like 1/2 price or so.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I recently purchased a Rawlings Liquid Plasma on Ebay for a student. I paid $40.00.

It is a newer version of a bat that my DD spent $250.00 on a few years ago.

It is a great bat.

And does a different companies of bats make bats for different people? Like, I'm short (4"11) and 120 pounds and I want to be a power hitter so is their a brand that is known for good use for a power hitter but has sizes that are for smaller players?