Bat Tilting Issues with Coach

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 4, 2010
I am a new assistant coach at the high school. We recentley had try -outs and the coach was switching everyones batting stance. He was making them tilt the bat back towards the catcher at a almost flat angle. He said that it puts the bat on the correct path quicker. A straight plane thru the hitting zone. I have never seen this before and think he is crazy. I coach middle school team also and this is against everything I am preparing the girls for.

Feb 16, 2011
If they are coaching a player during tryouts the coach has a control Issue.
I would have to agree with Quincy on that one!

He was making them tilt the bat back towards the catcher at a almost flat angle.
I seen a LL coach do this about ten years ago. When I asked him why he did that he told me "It's easier for them to hit the ball the hands are already flat, the bat head is in the zone already. Since then I've seen this method a few more times, but never at the "High School" level!

Jul 26, 2010
I've seen this method used by slowpitch players, who seem to use an overly large gut as a counterbalance to the bat laying flat across their upper arm. The goal seems to be to create a large amount of rotational force by utilizing the gut as the engine. I'm not exactly sure how this applies to girls softball or to the hitting mechanics of an athletically fit athlete, but could I hazard a guess as to the physical dimensions of said coach?

-W

Apr 27, 2009
Seen it and do it in slowpitch. Have wondered about the application in fastpitch, but when I go into the batting cage against the 60mph, I just can't make myself put the bat flat.

Dec 28, 2008
Players: