Loading

Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: When does the batter have to get in the box?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse miket4God's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default When does the batter have to get in the box?

    We as coaches have always told our batters to not get in the box until the pitcher is on the rubber in order to avoid getting stagnant while waiting for the pitcher to get the sign. Had a USFA tournament this weekend where the umpire stated the batter had 10 seconds to get in the box whether the pitcher is on the rubber or not?

    Is he correct?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    The batter has 10 seconds to get into the box after being instructed to do so by the umpire. There is no requirement for the pitcher to take position on the pitching plate prior to the batter entering the box, the only requirement on the pitcher is they have 20 seconds to deliver the pitch after receiving the ball. But, if there is no batter in the box they cant deliver the pitch.

    In USA softball, the batter is suppose to keep 1 foot in the box between pitches. Most pitchers will deliver the ball in 12-14 seconds after receiving the ball. Unless you have umpires that are not enforcing the 20 second limit on pitchers the batter should not be stagnant waiting on the pitcher.

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day Lightning's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 102 Times in 55 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    In USA softball, the batter is suppose to keep 1 foot in the box between pitches. Most pitchers will deliver the ball in 12-14 seconds after receiving the ball. Unless you have umpires that are not enforcing the 20 second limit on pitchers the batter should not be stagnant waiting on the pitcher.
    What's the penalty for not keeping one foot in the box? This summer we saw one ump "warn" a team over and over and over again but without any penalties the team didn't seem to feel the need to comply. (These girls would step out, take 3-5 practice swings, then get back in the box and set up.) It slowed the game to a crawl and the pitcher had a hard time developing a good rhythm.
    Last edited by Lightning; 11-13-2017 at 02:00 PM.

  4. #4
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball quincy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    6,513
    Thanks
    2,387
    Thanked 2,059 Times in 1,351 Posts

    Default

    I think the pentaly is a called strike, I have never seen it enforced, sounds like in your game I might have tried. Honestly I do not ever recall it being an Issue.

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    In USA softball, the batter is suppose to keep 1 foot in the box between pitches. Most pitchers will deliver the ball in 12-14 seconds after receiving the ball. Unless you have umpires that are not enforcing the 20 second limit on pitchers the batter should not be stagnant waiting on the pitcher.
    DD plays USA so mostly know those rules, I thought all organization's had this rule? HS for example?
    Last edited by quincy; 11-13-2017 at 02:15 PM.

  5. #5
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    USA is the only rule set I am aware of that requires the batter to keep one foot in the box. I'm not particularly a fan of the rule, if the batter isn't delaying the game then why force them to keep a foot in the box. The rule states if the batter leaves the batters box and delays the game the umpire can issue a penalty strike with the key word being if they delay the game.

  6. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    quincy (11-13-2017)

  7. #6
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,055
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 594 Times in 417 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    USA is the only rule set I am aware of that requires the batter to keep one foot in the box. I'm not particularly a fan of the rule, if the batter isn't delaying the game then why force them to keep a foot in the box. The rule states if the batter leaves the batters box and delays the game the umpire can issue a penalty strike with the key word being if they delay the game.
    Actually, MLB has the same requirement:

    (4) (6.02(d)) The Batter’s Box Rule
    (A) The batter shall keep at least one foot in the batter’s
    box throughout the batter’s time at bat, unless one of
    the following exceptions applies, in which case the
    batter may leave the batter’s box but not the dirt area
    surrounding home plate:
    (i) The batter swings at a pitch;
    (ii) An attempted check swing is appealed to a
    base umpire;
    (iii) The batter is forced off balance or out of the
    batter’s box by a pitch;
    (iv) A member of either team requests and is
    granted “Time”;
    (v) A defensive player attempts a play on a runner
    at any base;
    (vi) The batter feints a bunt;
    2017 Official Baseball Rules_2017 Official Baseball Rules 3/27/17 8:58 PM Page 20
    Rule 5.04(b) to 5.04(c)
    21
    (vii) A wild pitch or passed ball occurs;
    (viii) The pitcher leaves the dirt area of the pitching
    mound after receiving the ball; or
    (ix) The catcher leaves the catcher’s box to give
    defensive signals.
    If the batter intentionally leaves the batter’s box and

  8. #7
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,924
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,418 Times in 836 Posts

    Default

    I was actually going to say MLB had the rule, but I hate mixing baseball in with softball. And for the most part the rule seems to be ignored in MLB lately, think Ive only seen it enforced 2 or 3 times at most.

  9. #8
    Checking out the clubhouse 2br02b's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    20
    Thanked 21 Times in 13 Posts

    Default

    NSA rule is 10 seconds after ump calls "play ball". First infraction - a warning with a called strike, then if the player does it again on a subsequent at bat - she is called out. Harsh - never seen that called.

  10. #9
    TMD
    TMD is online now
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    218
    Thanks
    118
    Thanked 222 Times in 96 Posts

    Default

    and then there's this...not against the rules (outside of USA rule set), but would drive me crazy.


  11. #10
    Checking out the clubhouse IndyHScoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Location
    Western Indiana
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    53
    Thanked 18 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TMD View Post
    and then there's this...not against the rules (outside of USA rule set), but would drive me crazy.

    To me this all about show..."LOOK AT ME"

    Complete over kill.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --