What does the typical pitching lesson cost?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 13, 2010
My daughter has been begging to be a pitcher for a few years now. I finally gave in and had her work with me on just pitching from about 20'-30' without a full wind-up. I am no expert, but it appears that there is some potential.

She is 14 and will probably be playing on the varsity softball team as a freshman. She has been playing TB for 5 years now and plays 1st and OF. I found out that the HS she will be attending has zero pitching. If I get her lessons now, there is the possibility that she will pitch for the next 4 years in HS and possibly TB as well as she plays on a "B" level town team.

I called a local and reputable pitching instructor and he said that his private, 1 on 1 lessons are $65 an hour. With that said...is this what I should expect to pay?

Jun 24, 2013
In our area that sounds about right, maybe a little on the low end but around that price range.

DD likes 1/2 an hour lessons which works for me and our pocket book.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
In our area that sounds reasonable. I've seen $40 - $45 for half an hour at a few place and $50 - $65 for 45 minutes at others. So $65 for an hour sounds like the right ballpark. Sometimes you get a discount if you buy in bulk, like prepay for 4, 8, 10, etc. lessons at a time.

Or you could move to Arizona and go to Amy, her rates are awesome.

Aug 13, 2010
In our area that sounds reasonable. I've seen $40 - $45 for half an hour at a few place and $50 - $65 for 45 minutes at others. So $65 for an hour sounds like the right ballpark. Sometimes you get a discount if you buy in bulk, like prepay for 4, 8, 10, etc. lessons at a time.

Or you could move to Arizona and go to Amy, her rates are awesome.

Would love to. Ironically I used to live in Mesa. Now in NJ :(

Cannonball

Ex "Expert"
Feb 25, 2009