Underwear requirements?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 5, 2010
Do you have any rules regarding what kind of underwear a player has to wear?

I'm a high school coach, and I ask because I recently ordered new uniforms for my team next year. The uniform pants are white and fairly snug. Unfortunately, the pants are also quite transparent, rendering a player's underwear almost completely visible. (This wasn't a problem before because our pants were black).

Given the transperancy issue, would making white underwear a requirement for next year be a step you'd take? Would you go even further and make sliding shorts a requirement?

Or should I not worry about this at all?

I've never really had to make rules regarding undergarments before, and I don't currently have any rules in place, so any guidance you could provide would be appreciated. Thanks!

redhotcoach

Out on good behavior
May 8, 2009
My rec team/league has to wear white pants. I would recommend them to wear compression shorts/underwear like underarmour beneath them. Also anyone that has to buy pants for there daughters, get womans specific pants. The "youth" or baseball pants make for droupy crotch on girls.

Feb 9, 2009
I think if they want to wear neon green underwear with big red smiley faces on them, and they KNOW it'll show under their pants, then let them!! Maybe it'll throw the other team off their game....

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
See what kinda reaction you get when you require them to wear 'grannie panties'. Just for fun.

We had white shorts for HS this year. Most wore white 'boy shorts' ( women will know what those are ) or some wore white thongs. ( most men know what those are ) :)

Feb 9, 2009
But seriously, you're a HS coach, right? Don't go ANYWHERE NEAR requiring a HS girl to wear a certain kind or color of underwear...you leave yourself wide open to being misunderstood, and it's just not worth it the risk...