Speaking of another coaching-parent-DD drama trend

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Huskerdu

With Purpose and Urgency
Sep 4, 2011
So, I have this guy I've known in the coaching circles for a couple of years, his daughter needed a team, I needed an assistant coach and a shortstop and it seemed to be a match made in heaven. The kid is a good athlete, but man, this thing has turned into a drama I wish I would have avoided. We are a 2nd year 12U team that contends every week in tournaments...

He told me the other day that he couldn't come to practice because of work, and when I asked if we could find his daughter a ride. He responded, "I don't like her going to practice without me being there." I said WTF????...to myself of course. I didn't understand that at all, they came to the team knowing I am an experienced coach with a very talented team...

I talked to a seasoned parent with two girls that will get D1 scholarships in the next couple of years. Her response to me was, these are the kids who wash out of the sport because of their parents.

Does this happen in Iowa?

May 7, 2008
Tucson
He may very well, have good reason not to let his kids ride with someone else. Let it go.

I always drove, when possible, and did let the kids go with trusted adults, but you just never know.

Jul 16, 2008
Oregon
Just gotta ask, did they pay the same ammount as everyone else? IMHO if the parents have their bill paid, I really don't care if the kid comes to practice or not (just give me a call to let me know because I might need to change my schedule). See if they don't practice, they don't play.... too easy. Now if it's 1 or 2 times and the kid is normally at everything else of course I let it slide. Now with that being said I really never had a problem with attendance.