Showcase - Playing Time Question

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 4, 2013
When my daughter played 16U a year ago, her team went to a few showcases and the coach played everyone. Not equal time mind you, but even the girl with the least amount of time had played at least 2 games. Now her 18U team with new coaching plays the showcase games like it's a regular tournament. After a weekend of 5 games, some girls have played a total of 5 innings while others never sat. This was puzzling to me as I thought the idea of a showcase was to show all your players, not 80% of them. I asked the coaches about this, citing that I'm no expert, and in a nutshell was told that's the way it was and we could go elsewhere if we didn't like it (yep, I was shocked). Needless to say, I haven't brought it up again and won't.

My question is, is it normal to play all the girls a decent amount of time in a showcase, or not?

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
It's not such a cut and dry answer. The colleges can "ask" to see certain players play, and that very well might have been the situation. Maybe the girls who got the most time had contacted these college coaches and arranged they come see them. Some players may not have had CC's travel to see them. So in that case, yes we would play those girls who are being "watched" more.

Next would be how old is your DD and what grade? Some expo teams tend to play the older group ( girls entering senior year ) more often ( if they haven't committed somewhere ) because the window of time is closing. Younger girls play a tad less, unless your a very good player, but usually if that's the fact my first paragraph answers that option.

You might just be playing for an idiot. Never count that out in sports.

If you're new to the team, he might feel entitled to play his girls who have been around more.