Illegal pitchs, coaches and umpires...what's the solution?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 26, 2010
Crazyville IL
The survey thread really got my hackles up but I didn't want to derail that thread.

For the last 2 years I've been an assistant coach for a 10u travel team that my daughter plays on. Horrific pitching mechanics are pretty common with many of the teams we play against. Illegal pitches are pretty common most notably crow hops, some of them as blatant as 4 - 6 inches of air under both feet during the stride. 2 years of games, probably 10 or more pitchers who never threw a legal pitch in any game I ever watched them play and only 1 time did I see an umpire start calling IP's. That time was with the most blatant pitcher with a really impressive 6inch vertical delivery. They only started calling her on it the second day of elimination play at a tourney. Most likely after the UIC got an ear full from some rather unhappy coaches who were put out of a tournament in a game thier kids didn't recieve a single legal pitch.

Early in the first year I asked a couple of the umps about the lack of IP calls when it was so obvious the pitcher wasn't even close to being legal. The response was this is 10u so we aren't to strict on that. I don't agree with it but understand that view point. Some of the kids at 10u are first year pitchers and the experience of pitching a game might be benificial. I went and watched a 12u ASA class A tournament earlier this month. The ace pitcher on the team that won the tournament replanted on every pitch she threw for 2 games. Not one call for an IP. I guess it's not just a 10u thing around here.

In the other thread it's clear that there are plenty of pitchers who have gone for years with illegal pitching mechanics and haven't recieved enough pressure from officals and coaches to fix the problem. What is the solution to the problem? Is it a problem?

Opinions?