Have you ever.........

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
Yup, you bet. This was before I was an actual softball coach. I had taken my oldest daughter to her rec league softball practice, indoors in a gym, and the coach asked me to toss some popups to some of the girls so they could get some experience with balls in the air. I think she was about nine at the time. I dutifully tossed the balls until one came down right on the nose of a very inexperienced girl. I felt awful, and that may have been the end of her softball playing days. Which in retrospect was probably for the best for her.

Nov 29, 2009
Bloodied or broke a kids nose with a softball or baseball?

No, but I got a couple of them in the forehead. No blood fortunately. LOADS and LOADS of shins... ;)

Last edited:
Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
Happened yesterday and happened last year with the Manager just throwing to his kid.

Both times were an Adult throwing to a player easily, stuff happens.

Oct 3, 2011
Right Here For Now
Yep...mouth with braces, nose bloodied and many other parts of the body. I pulled the permit for a township park practice field and we were lucky that they cut the grass. If they drug the infield once every 4 years we were spoiled that year. It's usually on this field that it happened.

Aug 2, 2008
Well I dont feel better but at least I am not alone.

Hard to say how many thousands of throws I have made to kids without incident. It was in a gym with only a second baseman and SS, working on turns and tosses. I was demonstrating to 2b how I wanted it at the same time she was going through the motions. As soon as I let it go there was nothing I could do. Instant blood and a crooked nose, the first thing she said was "I am not crying my eyes are just watering" I stopped the bleeding and drove my daughter to the hospital.