Arm circle question.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 8, 2018
My DD has always had this bent arm over her head keeping her arm bent down to release. I am concerned she will never hit the velocity she needs to compete in college. I see other pitchers with a complete circle with arm more straight and diameter of circle wider. Any advice would be appreciated. She’s 15 and throws about 52mph.

Last edited:
Sep 19, 2018
Welcome to the Forum Billy. I am by no means an expert but I'll give it a go.

1) to give you an accurate answer the guys here that really know will need a video. Take a side shot, host it on Youtube and you will get your answer pretty quickly.

2) There should be some bend at the elbow. Without video, it will be difficult to tell you if it is too much or too little.

3) Start reading the sticky posts at the top of this forum. Start with IR in the Classroom. Lots of great information there. You should read the whole thing, but.... GO to page 18 or 19. Sluggers posted a few GIFs and you can see Finch and Pauly with a slightly bent arm.

Good luck. You will learn a lot here if you stick around.

Sep 29, 2014
Hey Billy....first place everyone looks to get more speed is always "arms" when the odds are very good that the first place to easily pick up speed is "legs". I can be a little nerve racking to post a video but you can go look in the pitching forums and see the kind of feedback you will get. ALWAYS constructive critiques with specific recommendations of what she can do to improve. While there will be a few differing opinion you will quickly see a consensus build on the most important things to address.

First thing I might ask before we jump in is does she have a pitching coach and how do you feel about them, what are their recommendations?

May 15, 2008
Cape Cod Mass.