Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 1 error or 2?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse slagothar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default 1 error or 2?

    Runners on first and second, popup to shallow LF. LF easily gets to ball for catch, but ball pops out of mitt. Picks up ball, throws to 3rd in plenty of time to record force out. Of course, third baseman misses catch (good throw), with ball rolling to fence.

    Had the third baseman recorded the force out, I would have ruled a FC (no error on play).

    But in this case, should there be an error on the RF (batter reached due to drop) and 3B (runner from second safe on drop) or should there be only 1 error on 3B?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Sweet Lou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    NorCal
    Posts
    2,291
    Thanks
    1,077
    Thanked 945 Times in 589 Posts

    Default

    E5. Only one error on this play. Given other facts, 2 errors might have been issued.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sweet Lou For This Useful Post:

    Elk Grove Hurricane (06-14-2018)

  4. #3
    I can talk softball all day Big Daddy Michigan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    209
    Thanks
    43
    Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts

    Default

    E7 Everyone advanced because of the dropped pop up. If she does not drop it there is no play @ 3rd. It isn't two errors because no one advanced on the second error.

  5. #4
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    8,609
    Thanks
    5,462
    Thanked 6,635 Times in 3,408 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big Daddy Michigan View Post
    E7 Everyone advanced because of the dropped pop up. If she does not drop it there is no play @ 3rd. It isn't two errors because no one advanced on the second error.
    This is the way I see it, too.
    A TB parent's life...Drive. Write checks. Eat tacos.

  6. #5
    Certified softball maniac canyonjoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    1,900
    Thanks
    205
    Thanked 1,021 Times in 593 Posts

    Default

    If the runner going to 3rd scored on the play it's 2 errors, but if she stated at 3rd it's just one.

  7. #6
    Checking out the clubhouse slagothar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    Thanks all; that is how I saw it, as well, but coach wanted me to assign 2 errors...

  8. #7
    TMD
    TMD is online now
    I can talk softball all day TMD's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    312
    Thanks
    241
    Thanked 296 Times in 134 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slagothar View Post
    Thanks all; that is how I saw it, as well, but coach wanted me to assign 2 errors...
    Well, there are "errors for coaching purposes" and "errors for score keeping purposes". As has been said, there is only 1 official error here in the scorebook, the E7 which allowed the runner to advance to 3rd. As a coach, I'd also have the "don't turn one bad play into two" conversation with the team.

  9. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TMD For This Useful Post:

    Eric F (06-14-2018), gamommax3 (06-14-2018)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --