Pitching coaches who recruit from other pitching coaches

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

I have been a pitching coach since 1975. But from 1975 to 1995 it was on a part time basis because I was in the military. Since 1995 when I retired from the military I have taught pitching and catching on a full time basis. Here is my problem, from the mid 1980 to now there is another pitching coach who has been teaching on a regular basis and has established his name and is well known in the San Diego community. That is not my problem my problem is he actively recruits my better students.

He has developed some very good pitchers who have done well in travel, high school and college. He is considered a nice guy by most folks in the softball community here is San Diego. But they do not know how back stabbing he can be.

I do not have a problem if a parent decides that I am not providing their daughter the proper teaching to advance thru the ranks and become the best pitcher or catcher. But I do have a problem when this other pitching coach actively recruits my students.

I just lost one of my better 12&U students to him this last week. He went thru the travel ball teams organization president to talk with the parent and they decided to go over and see if their daughter gets better. But this is one of many where he recruits other pitching coaches pitchers. Of course the parent asked if it does not work out can we come back. I said sure but with one rule that if you leave again you can not come back ever.

So my question is it ethical for a pitching coach to actively recruit another pitching coaches students:mad:?

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
I retired from the military

First, thank you for your service.