Why would a coach do this?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 26, 2010
Michigan
If you remember I am an assistant coach on a 14u team this year. The HC and I do not see eye to eye on how things should run, but he is the HC so I try to let him run his team his way. There is something he does that I just don't understand.

When a girl makes a play, and gets an out. He will often tell her how she could have, and should do it better in the future. For instance, the pitcher covering on a bunt. She rakes the ball into her glove with both hands and makes the throw getting the runner by 2 steps. He will tell her nice play but next time use the bare hand. Third base makes a great stop, scramble to her feet and throws a rocket to first, and he will say. Nice play but get the throw a little lower so firstbase doesn't have to reach. But if a routine pop fly that the second baseman is camped under pops out of her mitt, he says Nice try. He does this all the time, tells the girls who made an error nice try but corrects those who make outs.

Again, I am not realy looking for why he thinks the way he does. I just need to say it out loud to see if anyone has seen this before

Oct 25, 2009
Yep, among all my mistakes that is one of the things I used to do. My thought was I was teaching. Maybe, sometimes. In cases like those most of the time the attagirl should be all that's said. Sometimes there may be a good reason, like fielding the ball with the bare hand or using the outside of the glove to brace the ball between the hand and the glove, for example.

One way you could get the coach to do a little self-evaluation (all good coaches do that) is to lightheartedly refer to him as "Coach But". Let him know that most all of his attagirls come with a "but". Or some other diplomatic, but light, way to make him aware of it.