Vid of 11 y.o - please help

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 5, 2010
Sorry for the youtube, didn't know another way.

Can't hit off a machine to save her life. Barrel always seems about 3 inches below ball. Can't seem to get on plane. Balls leave machine at 42-44" above the floor. ( Make for one short armed pitcher to my way of thinking but I'm probably just grasping at straws ;) )

Prefers live pitching, any speed. She's a pitcher.

She measures off and grips using HC's method.

In video, 2nd swing was "hard as she could" - she looks just like that in the cage or by the end of team batting practice. Not very good at back toss either. Always seems to try and stand up at contact.

Suggestions? And thanks.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F_8H86Ex8e0

Jun 17, 2009
Portland, OR
Just got it fixed. Thanks

sewyly.jpg

Apr 13, 2010
I'm trying to learn so I'm no expert but the one thing I noticed is that she is leaning back on her back foot at contact. If you watch the model swings in the model swings thread you'll get a pretty good idea of what the swing should look like. I think as the bat is starting to move she needs to start transferring more and more weight to her front foot.

Aug 4, 2008
Lexington,Ohio
Learn to throw first. Then equate it to hitting. Read one of hitters-howards posts on throwing. She needs to learn how to tansfer her weight first before learning to hit.As EP Dad is getting at, her weight transfer is terrible.

Last edited:

Hitter

Banned
Dec 6, 2009
I'm trying to learn so I'm no expert but the one thing I noticed is that she is leaning back on her back foot at contact. If you watch the model swings in the model swings thread you'll get a pretty good idea of what the swing should look like. I think as the bat is starting to move she needs to start transferring more and more weight to her front foot.