Pitcher bending arm TOO much

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 21, 2022
So I have been a pitcher all my life. I went to college to pitch. Won a state tournament pitching 43 games in a high school season. Won Gatorade Player of the Year for TN in 2013. I know A LOT about pitching and what it takes to be a pitcher. I have been doing lessons for a VERY long time, too. There are very few problems I cannot fix or do not know how to fix.

Anyways, I have been giving lessons to the same girl for about 5 years now. I have never had any mechanical problems out of her until she grew about 6 inches and now cannot stop bending her arm like excessively. She has always been one of the top pitchers of mine. Practices all the time, does anything you ask her to do, plays high level travel ball, and has the absolute best attitude you can ever want.

I have tried fixing her glove hand thinking that its pulling out and pulling her shoulder and hip out which could make her hand bend like that.
I tried putting her against a wall and pitching so she can feel her arm stay tight to her body.
I have tried arm circles up close. TONS of arm circle drills.
I bought a tool to put on her leg so when she pitches she must touch it to know she was close to her body.
I tried working on hand positioning.
Working on fixing her arm circle cause she started changing it and going around her head.
Keep in mind she NEVER used to do any of this. It literally happened over night.
She is an 8th grader, so still very young. Throws mid 50's, but not she is releasing the ball way outside her body and putting stress on her rotator cuff, shoulder, elbow especially, and basically just her whole arm.
She lost about 10 sometimes even 15 miles per hour on ALL her pitches.
She cant throw anything accurate at all.