Three types of swing

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Hey there...beautiful swing from your daughter here.... I have been a hitting coach on the boys side for almost 10 years now.... and I was taught by a MLB coach in New York that the front leg should be firmed up at contact and the consequence for a bent front leg would result in a tremendous amount of Power... those were his exact words..... Is there a coach that works in softball that can give a good rebutal to why most girls are taught the bent leg theory??? I love being a student in the art of hitting and I know there are numerous types of swings but it is interesting to me on how far apart the MLB and the softball world are on this subject and Linear vs Rotation and then 50 50 between those two.... I see 3 different types of swings primarily being taught today.... and its fun to iron out all the pro's and the con's....

Sep 29, 2008
Northeast Ohio
I don't believe you "firm up your front leg" in baseball or softball. On most good power swings (not all swings) your front leg straightens (firms up) as your rear hip (away from pitcher) rotates towards the pitcher and the lead hip rotates away from the pitcher. Most girls are not taught the bent leg theory. Like baseball players hitting or throwing softball players land on a leg with some flex. The firm front leg is not something you do but something that happens as a result of the swing.

May 16, 2010
I don't believe you "firm up your front leg" in baseball or softball. On most good power swings (not all swings) your front leg straightens (firms up) as your rear hip (away from pitcher) rotates towards the pitcher and the lead hip rotates away from the pitcher. Most girls are not taught the bent leg theory. Like baseball players hitting or throwing softball players land on a leg with some flex. The firm front leg is not something you do but something that happens as a result of the swing.