stickers

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 6, 2015
have heard that some use helmet stickers as rewards, was thinking of this. looking for anything to make it more exciting/fun for the girls.

my only fear is that as a LL 10u coach, I may have some players getting lots, and some getting few to none. any ideas on how to allocate these to give every player a chance to earn some. initial ideas were:

any two players involved in throw and catch to get an out (ie grounder, throwing out stealing runner, etc.)
walk free inning for pitchers
hits
run scored
fly ball caught
a player keeping ground ball in front of them.
successful backup (ie first player misses throw, backup is there to get the ball)

need to figure out ways for less gifted players to earn some though. loudest cheering? most enthusiasm?

Oct 30, 2014
Seattle
Stickers are fun.

We give them out for anything we consider a "good play" - an open ended criteria that can be adjusted player to player. That saves us headaches from having to remember every little play and also gives us the ability to adjust the amount of stickers we are giving out higher/lower to keep if fun and still exciting to be on the receiving end. Rewarding attitude and sportsmanship is always good too.

We do let players (privately) nominate another player, but not themselves.

May 24, 2013
So Cal
With your list, you'd better have a LOT of stickers, and a good way to keep track of who is getting them.

Yes, you will have kids who get more stickers than others. That happens. One thing I always did was to give everyone on the team a sticker for a win - winning is a team effort.

My typical individual sticker awards:
- Hit
- Outstanding defensive play (not every routine play)
- Extra effort (this allows for some subjectivity to include/encourage girls who aren't getting many stickers)

Note - Give stickers for legit reasons. 10U girls know if it's BS.

May 6, 2015