Starting motion

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 11, 2010
Chicago, IL
I am new to all this and am unfortunately working with multiple girls/ parents on their pitching.

I have been reading a lot of books, watching videos, reading internet sites, etc.

I have been trying to break a few girls of bring both arms over their head to start their pitching motion. I would like them to start by just dropping their pitching arm back, to about parallel to the ground, I have other battles to fight and I am not sure this is an important one.

Some resources say they should bring their arms over their head, other say they should not. I am so confused.

Any input/ thoughts would be appreciated

Sep 29, 2008
Northeast Ohio
From my experience and I have worked with a good number of kids in the age you are working with it doesn't really matter where they start with those arms. I teach them this mantra regardless of starting position;

Out (push straight out to target whether arms rock back, one arm rocks back or they just push arms out)
Open (hips and shoulders open landing at about a 45 with the foot)
Elbow (on the way down lead with the elbow - arm slightly bent and ball facing third or perhaps even the sky)
Release (whip the forarm by internally rotating to release point and let the wrist snap naturally...not forced)

Out - Open - Elbow - Release

notice I say "release" and not "snap" which i think is a bad cue. that is two cents worth if you are teaching a group of 10 years olds verses a big one on one lesson with the next Jenny Finch.

Last edited:
Mar 13, 2010