Questions

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 16, 2010
I am new to softball and need some help. I have coached baseball for 15 plus years and I just took on a select 12U girls team. I need information on how to set the field. from what I have watched infield positioning is a lot different from baseball, am I correct? is there somewhere I can go to get information on the infield positions and how they cover as the play proceeds? Any help would be great.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I don't think that the infield positions are different. 1st and 3rd play in front of the base line. Is that what you mean?

The pitcher doesn't cover 1st base.

You'll need to know about the pitching circle and the look back rule. We don't lead off.

You may see more short games. You will see slapping.

We swing a bat, exactly like in baseball - if you teach rotational.

In my opinion, the catcher doesn't take the mask off to field foul balls.

There are lots of text books and DVDs, but they are mostly for skills. Good luck and keep asking questions.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
I don't think that the infield positions are different. 1st and 3rd play in front of the base line. Is that what you mean?

The pitcher doesn't cover 1st base.

You'll need to know about the pitching circle and the look back rule. We don't lead off.

You may see more short games. You will see slapping.

We swing a bat, exactly like in baseball - if you teach rotational.

In my opinion, the catcher doesn't take the mask off to field foul balls.

There are lots of text books and DVDs, but they are mostly for skills. Good luck and keep asking questions.

Pretty much whatever you learned in baseball does not apply to softball. :)

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
from what I have watched infield positioning is a lot different from baseball, am I correct?