Pouting

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 13, 2010
Could use a little advice about a situation with one of my players. We are a 12u travel team and this kid has been with the team going on her 3rd year. Unfortunately in that time she seems to be going backward. She leads the team in striking out and has been beat out for the starting 1b position by another player.

Add to this she has been going to pitching lessons for almost two years but isn't even close to being a pitcher.

Now we have a rule in our player agreement that pouting is not tolerated. This kid however pouts at every turn. Why? I can only suspect since she won't tell me but she doesn't pitch, doesn't start in the infield, and bats down in the order. As a coach I don't get down on our players and do my best to be encouraging. I can't seem to reach this kid however and I think her mom is compounding the problem. She's becoming a cancer and the season hasn't even started.

What I want to do is part ways. It is early in the season and there is plenty of time for her to get on another team. What bugs me is that she is young and has made very good friends with most of the players on the team.

I am curious to know how others have handled similar situations in the past. Remember this is travel, not rec. Everyone knows playing time and positions must be earned.

Parting ways after 3 years together.....tough call there coach. An argument could be made that your the one pouting right now.... I prefer to be proactive so i won't go there. You ask how other coaches handle this....heres my take.