no depth preception problems hitting

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 24, 2010
I have a 10 yr. and she has no depth preception and she is having trouble hitting the ball this year . And i was wondering if anybody has had this problem and if there was any hiiting drills that might help her out any ideas would be helpful.

Sep 29, 2008
Northeast Ohio
Is that a medical diagnosis (medical vision issue etc) or a perception based on her results. If you can share a little more info on what is going on maybe a few folks here can give you something to work with.

Oct 12, 2009
I have a kid on my team who I think may have this problem, but I'm trying to figure out an easy way to test this. I know that in the AF, they used to test this by having pilots line up two vertical sticks as best they could.

Dec 28, 2008
I'm no eye doctor, but I can share a little on the subject because I use a software product called the Vizual Edge Performance Trainer with my students as a test of their eye muscles, and to help them improve. The reality is that our eyes have muscles in them, just like the rest of the body, and the muscles we use the most become stronger and those that we don't use become weaker. There are several different topics on this thread regarding sight:

Visual Alignment - This is the ability for the brain to coordinate what the right eye is telling it, with what the left eye is telling it. The vertical sticks drill would be a good test of that.