Jugs Jr for $400 Should I buy it?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 2, 2011
A retiring coach in the area is selling his Juggs Jr pitching machine. It comes with some ball feeders and dimple balls. They retail for like 1200 new. I am new to coaching and have not tried many pitching machines. Is the Jugs Jr. a good machine? Thanks!

Jun 18, 2010
I have a Jugs Jr. that I bought a few years ago for over 1K. I use it for both our Softball and Baseball teams. I will say the older the kids get, the less I use it.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
I haven't used mine for several years. It is heavy and is hard to move. It is in the way in the garage.

But, I love it for infield and OF practice. I would sell the dimple balls. They sell pretty well.

Here is what to look for, if you are going to use it for batting, set it up and see if it will throw strikes to a batter. You can see if there are any bolts that need tightened, if the tire is aired properly - and if it will hold air. Replacement tires are not too expensive. See if you want to lug it around and have enough room in the car, to carry it.

Look at the dial is it digital? Probably not, and that is why it is $400.00. If it is only a dial that you twist to put it on the correct speed, that it certainly OK. But, there is a newer Jugs Jr. that has been out several years, that is digital.

Since you are new, I will tell you that I first had a machine and cage in 1985 at the junior college. We hit all winter in it and then, could not hit a thing all spring, in games. I asked the baseball coach about it and he said "Oh, hitting in the cage doesn't transfer to on the field." "Oh, thanks." I only used the cage sparingly after that and never with my own kids.

But, yes. $400 isn't bad. And Jugs has a good customer service. You could probably ask them questions, before buying.

Jun 21, 2010