Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

is this believable

May 29, 2015
894
93
Had to wait till I got home and went to the bookshelf. 2016 is the last PONY book I have ... it says they use the ASA stamp.
 
Apr 28, 2019
833
43
Had to wait till I got home and went to the bookshelf. 2016 is the last PONY book I have ... it says they use the ASA stamp.
Thanks MIB. That would be Blue Ghost territory.
Pony has kind of fallen out of favor in the last couple of years in my area. NSA took over a couple of tournies that used to be PONY.
 
Apr 28, 2019
833
43
Thanks MIB. That would be Blue Ghost territory.
Pony has kind of fallen out of favor in the last couple of years in my area. NSA took over a couple of tournies that used to be PONY.
But honestly all you have to do is check the bat and the stamps are right there.
 
May 6, 2015
1,113
63
Good coaches will know. Your average Dad coach should know but may be a little ignorant to specific bats. Maybe he was a relatively new coach?
seemed fairly experienced, and he did try at first to bring the wrong bat back out of the dugout. to me that is the kicker for him knowing.
 
Apr 28, 2019
833
43
seemed fairly experienced, and he did try at first to bring the wrong bat back out of the dugout. to me that is the kicker for him knowing.
Yeah probably trying to pull a fast one. Just grab the bat and point out the associations listed on it. Conversation over.
 
May 29, 2019
67
18
When would the offense/ejection happen for an illegal bat? When she steps onto field, into the batters box, takes a pitch, finishes the at-bat?
 
May 6, 2015
1,113
63
I believe as soon as they take a pitch it can be brought to umpires attention, but I may be wrong.

our coaches waited until at bat was over (2 run rbi double), umpire ruled out, inning over (there were 2 outs)
 
May 29, 2019
67
18
I believe as soon as they take a pitch it can be brought to umpires attention, but I may be wrong.

our coaches waited until at bat was over (2 run rbi double), umpire ruled out, inning over (there were 2 outs)
If the girl would have made the 3rd out via strike out (or whatever), would the coach still have protested the illegal bat?

I agree that the rules should be enforced, but it could look kinda bush league from the bleachers when the coach waits until after a 2 RBI bomb to then approach the umpire about the illegal bat. I would have waited until her next at bat and brought it up when she stepped into the box, but to each his own....

Back to the original question.....sounds like the opposing coach knew what went on. I probably would have has a choice word or two for him after the game regarding sportsmanship and integrity :oops: But, there probably are some coaches out there that are oblivious to which bats are legal and which ones aren't, especially at younger/lower levels.
 
May 6, 2015
1,113
63
If the girl would have made the 3rd out via strike out (or whatever), would the coach still have protested the illegal bat?

I agree that the rules should be enforced, but it could look kinda bush league from the bleachers when the coach waits until after a 2 RBI bomb to then approach the umpire about the illegal bat. I would have waited until her next at bat and brought it up when she stepped into the box, but to each his own....
It was kinda like during the at bat, they were discussing it amongst our coaches, to make certain they had their ducks in a row.

and it is supposed to be a penalty. you can wait until after the result of the play, then take either enforcement (batter is out, runners return to original positions), or the results of the play (if someone hits into a DP, defense can take that option for example, so it is advantageous to wait).
 

CoreSoftball20

Wilson = Evil Empire
Dec 27, 2012
3,855
83
Kunkletown, PA
If the girl would have made the 3rd out via strike out (or whatever), would the coach still have protested the illegal bat?
Of course not...hahaha. A ton of coaches that see a bad bat are gonna wait until they can use the protest in their
favor...usually a key hit, or any hit if its late in the game. I know there are coaches that would have an eye on the bat and
hope the girl uses it in a key spot.

But, still cant give them the ability to use that on you. May be considered bush by some, but if someone is
trying to break the rules by using it, then its pretty hard to call someone bush for calling you on it.
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,518
Messages
503,155
Members
15,935
Latest member
Speedemon518
Top