I'm new to being "the parent." What do I do???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 9, 2009
Ok, so I've coached 5 years of HS ball, and 5 seasons of rec ball. Now, I have a kid playing his first season of baseball...7U.
Tonight, for the third game in a row, he played: catcher, bench,catcher, bench, catcher,bench...
This team has 14 kids, and MY kid sits out three of six innings..There are 5 kids who haven't sat out ONE inning all season! We are 6 games into it...

Add to this that the idiot 1st base coach sends my slow-as-molasses kid to 2nd, after he hits a ball to the kid playing right-center. (yes, they play 4 boys in the outfield) The kid is standing right behind 2nd base with the ball, and he sends my kid to 2nd...:confused:...He got out. DUH

After the 4th inning, I told the assistant coach that I wasn't real pleased with the coach playing catcher/benchsitter with my kid.
5th inning? He plays catcher...6th inning?? yep, back at bench.

I got home tonight and looked up playing rules for the kids..
Not only are they not allowed to sit a kid out for more than 2 innings in a game, BUT they can't sit a kid out who has already sat out until every other kid on the team has sat out at least one inning...pitcher excluded for 8U and up. Remember, they have 14 kids, and 5 have NEVER sat an inning out all season...

How do I deal with this without coming across as the crazy momma?

Mar 15, 2010