here we go thnx guys

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

gvm

Sep 3, 2010
this is my dd, she turned 10. 3 months ago. she has another year at 10u.she's very strong and even though it doesn't look it in this video she throws very hard. i took a video of the change up i was asking about. but i didn't post it because i don't know if you guys can see it. amy thnk you for all your help, i've read every post on discussfastpitch.com[video]youtube gvm914[/video]

gvm

Sep 3, 2010
i know? i'm very new to all of this stuff.. i know the videos didn't come out good . i was just in a rush to get it to you guys and get some HELP !! i know they are long like i've said i'm a rookie to this...but that is the link i guess thanks

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
gvm, she is inconsistent...which is to be expected at 10. Some pitches she looks like she had decent form. Other times, she doesn't look so good.

I really like that she is relaxed. She'll uses a very simple, smooth back swing. She probably throws hard simply because she can can stay relaxed when she throws. You don't want to screw that up.

You fix her flaws one at a time. You have to focus on that particular flaw, fix it, and then move on to the next one.

(1) She needs to really get her follow through set. Most of the time, she releases the ball and then pulls her arm back.
(2) She donkey kicks about 50% of the time. A donkey kick is where she moves her right foot up violently at release.
(3) She doesn't always get open.
(4) She leans forward at release.

She has talent, but she needs to practice a lot.

I would tackle the follow through first. Read about "internal rotation". There are a couple of really good threads about internal rotation. From there, I would work on getting open.

I'm not sure how much you are practicing, but it isn't enough. She is way too inconsistent.