Corporal Punishment

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 8, 2010
I'm not sure it's necessarily "corporal punishment", but depending on who you ask it might be...

DD's coach likes to make the girls run and do push-ups for mistakes. Shank a ball in the infield, you get 10 push-ups. Drop a pop fly, you get 10 push-ups. Lose the game b/c of a few errors, the team runs. Sentences are not served at practice...the girls do this stuff right after the game, and between games if at a tournament. This is a mixed 12U team (with a few 10Us mixed in as well). Generally, these girls play hard.

My question - Do you guys see this a lot in quality programs? At any level?

My rant - As a parent of a child on this team, I find this incredibly embarrassing. As a coach, I don't see it doing anything but make the girls play scared and more worn out than they need to be. My DD mentioned that while they were running this weekend (we lost to a pretty good A team by only 4 runs), another team was laughing at them. So obviously this is going to affect their game psyche.

I wrestled with myself as to whether or not to say something, but decided against it. Don't think it would do any good anyway.

Aug 29, 2011
NorCal
It happens. Frankly I think it is stupid. Making girls do pushups etc. for losses and mistakes is dumb in my opinion.

Now for not paying attention, disrupting practice, not following directions etc., I have no problem at all with pushups, laps, etc.

Jan 23, 2009
NE
I only see this in the high A level - Drill sergeant type coaches.

This past weekend 12U I actually had a coach start with 8 girls on defense and 1 on the bench. It was punishment for not following one of the team rules prior to the game.

She then proceeded to in the middle of the inning pull a girl out of the field because she didn't participate in the team huddle and run out to her spot on defense.