Completing a roster, help?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 13, 2010
I am a new manager of a 14u town based team. The travel teams (now 8u-14u) were formed to give the girls an opportunity to take a step beyond recreation and all stars.

I was an assistant coach as a dad last year. The season was a disaster. However, I am pleasantly surprised to see great the turn out for girls that are interested in joining the team this year (we did not advertise outside of the district). Last year's manager stepped down, so that may be part of the reason.

I now have an "unfortunate" situation. I have too many girls to roster for 1 team, and not enough to field 2 teams. I will need to bring in a few girls from outside the district because we don't have enough pitchers and catchers. I found a catcher I really like, but she is from out of district as well. We will have 2 pitchers coming in from outside the district to try out.

We discussed creating a "taxi squad" where girls that need some work can practice with us, but would not play in games (of course that would not be charged full fees either). It would give the girls a chance to improve, and we would have a ready source of players if we were short for some reason. I want to roster as many as I can, but it also would not be fair to families who invest money and time and not get enough playing time.

Has anyone been in a similar situation? Any stories,comments, suggestions?

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
Florida
I was going to write a big long response but in the end it boiled down to this: