Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Baserunners occupying the same base

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,335
48
NSA 8.1

e) Two baserunners may not occupy the same base simultaneously.
EFFECT: The runner who first legally occupied the base is entitled
to it. The other runner may be put out by being touched with the ball.

Same in all rule sets. And don't allow anyone to tell you two runners cannot occupy a base at the same time. They can, it is up to the defense to execute the put out
 
Jan 29, 2016
49
6
In the situation of your play, the lead runner (R1) was tagged out before returning to 3B, leaving the base open and available to be occupied by the trailing runner (R2)...assuming it wasn't a force play.

It was not a force. R2 was the batter trying to stretch the double into a triple when we threw to the plate.

As long as R1 is not being forced home, she still has the right to return to 3B. If R1 and R2 are both occupying 3B at the same time, R2 does not have rights to the base, and is liable to be tagged out if she does not safely return to 2B.

So if our fielder (catcher in this instance) tags R1 while both are occupying 3B she is safe because she still has a right to the base? Remember our catcher dove to tag her and R1 was diving back to the bag our fielder tried to get up and tag R2 in another diving tag attempt but R2 was starting to go back to second. Then catcher got to her knees and threw towards 2nd base. If we are able to tag R2 while both are occupying then R2 is out? I think I got it. Tag both if possible.

If R1 is being forced home, she does not have the right to return to 3B, and is out when tagged by a fielder or by a fielder stepping on home plate.

It sounds like the umpire got it right.

Yes he got it right because she did tag her before she got back to 3b. Just was wondering what the call would be if R1 barely reached the bag in time but was still tagged while R2 was occupying.

Thanks
 
Jan 29, 2016
49
6
Thank you MTR. I reread the damn rule book looking for this two times. This is one of those that I will remember the rule number forever now. 8.1.e :D

Thanks
 
Jan 29, 2016
49
6
NSA 8.1

e) Two baserunners may not occupy the same base simultaneously.
EFFECT: The runner who first legally occupied the base is entitled
to it. The other runner may be put out by being touched with the ball.

Same in all rule sets. And don't allow anyone to tell you two runners cannot occupy a base at the same time. They can, it is up to the defense to execute the put out
Poorly written rule like most of the other NSA rules. Says you "may not occupy" then says "the other runner may be put out". The first statement of the rule shouldn't be there.
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,335
48
Poorly written rule like most of the other NSA rules. Says you "may not occupy" then says "the other runner may be put out". The first statement of the rule shouldn't be there.
Actually, the wording is pretty standard and IMO, straight forward. NFHS, USA, NCAA, WBSC are all similar.

IMO, there is absolutely nothing confusing with the wording and effect.
 
Jan 29, 2016
49
6
Actually, the wording is pretty standard and IMO, straight forward. NFHS, USA, NCAA, WBSC are all similar.

IMO, there is absolutely nothing confusing with the wording and effect.
I agree after coming back to this post with fresh eyes. THanks MTR.
 

Members online

No members online now.

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
33,666
Messages
487,647
Members
15,321
Latest member
bwpersy
Top