10u pitcher after 10 months of pitching advice needed please

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 5, 2010
This is my DD Maddie. She started pitching last June and although we live in Wisconsin we have been working pretty hard all winter on mechanics. We have been working with one of the coaches on the natinal registry and she seems to be doing fairly good in my eyes but I'm no expert. I think she is standing up tall and has pretty good balance. I know her arm looks stiff today but that changes from day to day and as it was 38 degrees when we taped this my guess is that might have something to do with it. I know there is plenty of room for improvement but are we on the right track.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Just another balmy day in WI., huh? I can sympathize. I lived in IL. for 50 years.

She is a very talented 10 YO and has grasped the skill quickly. I like her size and her delivery seems above average for the 10s that I work with.

The finish, is something that I would work on. I like a more natural follow through, rather than a pointed elbow and mule kick (her left foot is going to a stork stand.)

Also, she is slapping the back of her thigh with her glove. I am trying to break an 11YO of that right now. She needs to learn to lead with the glove, use it as a counterweight and protect herself with it. (Plus, it is hard on the right wrist to do all that slapping.)

Good luck. She will do well.

Jan 27, 2010
Your DDs a trooper for getting out in the cold to pitch. I would have her get her elbow closer to her side on follow through. She has a figure 4 finish which is proper but sometimes difficult for a beginnig pitcher. She appears to do well with the figure 4 and I would not change that. It will teach her to stand tall. I like her and she is doing well. P.S. Get her some long pants if she is going to pitch in 38 degree weather.

Last edited:
Feb 5, 2010