Warm Ups

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 31, 2013
Chicago
I have been coaching for 6 years now with the current breakdown:

4 years rec
3 travel
1st high school

Each year I have increased my win totals from the year before and generally carry over the same core players (as not all parents are insane and realize that you will not always win right away) and have modified warm ups before games every year. I am currently trying to figure out what everyone else believes the best warm ups are (figure you have an hour of time and fairly limited space).

Currently we do our dynamic stretches and stationary stretches followed by throwing (wrist snaps-knee follow through-stand up follow through-catch and more to throwing position-rapid fire), then hitting where the pitchers and catchers go first then get loose (we have 2 bow nets, use one side for soft toss, one side for bunts, use the TCB heavy balls head on and the TCB wiffles with the skilz click-n-hit bat) then go into some fielding. I really want to focus more on the fielding part as we have always been decent hitting teams and we're even better now having the fastest team I've ever had for club. I was thinking the 980 drill for infielders but I'm at a loss for the outfielders.

Any suggestions or what your pregames drills are?

Nov 29, 2009
You're doing a pretty much standard warm-up. Unfortunately, with most tournaments there is just not enough room to warm the outfielders properly. You're stuck sharing a limited space with 4+ other teams all trying to get ready for their games. There are very few venues in the Chicago area where you have the room to work the outfield. Usually when you have the first game of the day you can get some outfield time in.