Tryout - Poor communication/professionalism?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 27, 2011
North Carolina
What do you think of the communication skills/professionalism of coaches based on tryouts?

This tryout season, I've had one coach fail to call us back after raving about my DD in the tryout and saying 'I'll be in touch.' Had another send a very nice email invitation, which was met with an equally nice 'thanks but no thanks' email, which drew no response. Had another coach (someone I don't know) fail to return calls about future openings on his team. They're full at the moment, but as a former coach, I'd return any call like that.

None of this is a problem for my daughter. These are not teams that my daughter wants to play with, and she's pretty sure where she will find up this fall. And the examples I gave are not horror stories, just things that make you shrug.

I've just always been puzzled at the lack of communication/professionalism in the tryout process. Some of the more respected programs that get large numbers of players trying out won't contact you unless they want you back for a second look. Never quite understood that.

I'm sure others have more disturbing tales than I do.

Last edited:
Oct 3, 2009
What do you think of the communication skills/professionalism of coaches based on tryouts?

This tryout season, I've had one coach fail to call us back after raving about my DD in the tryout and saying 'I'll be in touch.' Had another send a very nice email invitation, which was met with an equally nice 'thanks but no thanks' email, which drew no response. Had another coach (someone I don't know) fail to return calls about future openings on his team. They're full at the moment, but as a former coach, I'd return any call like that.