Tewks AB hitting video series begins

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Mar 14, 2011
Silicon Valley, CA
I find it strange that Tewks says he made this realization 3 years ago, yet in the "barrel to the ball" youtube vid posted in 2010 it shows no understanding whatsoever of getting stretch or the sequencing of the hips leading the hands.

TDS

Mar 11, 2010
Who advocates foot down early and stop dynamically loading? Any momentum gained would be lost. That's like saying when jumping one needs to squat-stop-jump. I think the reason some high level guys talk about it is it allows them to use both legs with equal force vs the rear leg/hip pushing in a linear method to plant the front foot. IOW coil the rear hip and uncoil to move forward and plant the foot.

Last edited:
Jan 14, 2009
Atlanta, Georgia
I've been coaching for over ten years and have never heard a parent or coach tell a kid to get their front foot down as soon as the ball is released. What I tell my daughter is that she can't be late getting the front foot down. We work a lot on how to stay balanced when the front foot is off the ground during the stride to increase the chance of her getting the front foot down on-time.

I also don't agree with the view that hitters get back in a linear fashion. IMO kids should be taught to get back by performing a hip cock. All the lower body stuff that hitters do prior to the hip cock is a style choice. The hip cock is a rotational movement.

MATTINGLY: All good hitters shift their weight. I can't believe they don't. Show me how you get back.

WILLIAMS: I'm doing it with my hips.