Slap Hitting Struggle

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 1, 2011
Hello Newbie Here my daughter is 14 at a recent try out she ran a 2.7 seconds from home to first. This was for 18 u gold team she has been a right hand hitter with good power no home run capability ,but line drive. The coach tells me if she wants to play next level she needs to switch to become a slapper. I have started her with lesson of about 4 weeks sge has hit the ball she has good hand eye , but her foot work is were she struggles. She doesnt run thru the picth she stops at the plate then swings she was 2-6 last tourney and seems very upset. Any info would help?

May 7, 2008
Tucson
She needs to see the Larry Ray information, either his DVD or some of the You Tube stuff. Look for Jessica Mendoza , too.

What bat is she using?

This is going to take awhile for her to learn, but I am guessing that she has 4 years.

Jun 17, 2009
Portland, OR
Converting over to the left-side, to play at a high level, isn't a simple matter. To be truly effective you still need to be able to 'swing away'. In addition to picking up slapping (hard slap, soft slap, drag bunt) you'll also need to learn to swing away from the left-side.

May 1, 2011
She needs to see the Larry Ray information, either his DVD or some of the You Tube stuff. Look for Jessica Mendoza , too.

What bat is she using?

This is going to take awhile for her to learn, but I am guessing that she has 4 years.

She using her regular worth bat that she has use before when she hit right hand. I prefer her to bat right as she has for the last 4 years. The coach insist with her speed she needs to be a slapper.

Jun 17, 2009
Portland, OR
She using her regular worth bat that she has use before when she hit right hand. I prefer her to bat right as she has for the last 4 years. The coach insist with her speed she needs to be a slapper.

Let's go over this.