Scoring Apps for IPad

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 17, 2012
I'm just curious to see how many coaches have abandoned the "Paper" scorebook during games. I am a tech guy, so I want to ditch the paper scorebook, and go with an electronic scoring app. Several reasons...but most important is I want VERY detailed stats, and I don't want to have to spend 3 days following a tournament to calculate them. I considered using paper in the dugout and asking a parent to be an official scorer with the ipad. I just don't want them coming to me after every play..."Was that a hit, or an error"? Is there any downside in your eyes to going 100% electronic? (Please don't tell me that the battery could die"....I already thought about and accounted for that. Interested in hearing your thoughts.

Jul 30, 2013
I found myself having to go over and help my scorekeeper get out of jams with the app. I have scored games myself with it and it was great. When having others score games that I coached, I found some unexpected results. I would say make sure the scorekeeper gets a lot of practice with it before you can rely on the stats.

Nov 15, 2013
Ditch GameChanger and use iScore. GameChanger is like keeping the book with a crayon compared to using iScore.

Jun 18, 2012
Utah
Speaking of iPads and scoring..... What do you all do on those SUNNY days when you have a very hard time seeing the screen?? What can be done to see the screen better?

Feb 16, 2012
I use Iscore and it is hands down much better than gamechanger. For sunny days you will want to be in the shade. The glass acts as a heat magnifier and you will shut it down if it overheats...I found out the hard way. I can't wear sunglasses if it's sunny out and see the screen.

Dec 29, 2011
Mayville, WI