Riseball

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Nov 27, 2012
Do anyone have a clip of a rise ball? Every clip I see on YouTube is a ball that starts low and end up high. I am looking for the one that sorta travels parallel to the ground and breaks up.

Jun 18, 2010
Do anyone have a clip of a rise ball? Every clip I see on YouTube is a ball that starts low and end up high. I am looking for the one that sorta travels parallel to the ground and breaks up.

rise2_zpsa574fe6e.png

Last edited:
Nov 27, 2012
I am really new to softball, I have heard a lot about rise ball but yet to see one. To my untrained eye, I can see a screwball curve towards the batter, curve ball cut away from the batter and drop ball reall dip, but yet to see a rise ball do cut up like the pros say it should.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas
I am looking for the one that sorta travels parallel to the ground and breaks up.

Sure (around 16 seconds, you'll see two pitches 'back to back' where the ball breaks up):

[video=youtube_share;Ulp6dsF4iVA]http://youtu.be/Ulp6dsF4iVA[/video]

Oh, you mean using a softball? Sorry...humans can't do it with a softball.

BUT:

A riseball in softball drops less than a fastball over the 40 feet or so of flight, giving the ball the appearance of "jumping" in the strike zone. Find someone who has a good rise and catch for him/her. Wear a mask if you value your teeth. It is an interesting experience.

From your figures, Fig. 1 is the "high fastball". However, the flight path at the end is horizontal when it reaches the catcher. It is not moving down when it reaches the catcher. The attached image is a closer depiction of a rise for pitch speeds under 70MPH when viewed from 3B or 1B.

Attachments

• rise1.jpg
    rise1.jpg
    3 KB · Views: 19
Last edited:

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008
Phandle,