resources/code of conduct

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 9, 2013
I'm a beginner travel ball coach. I've coached rec leagues but new to accelerated world. I coach 10u and we just finished our first season (10 games). We've got a lot of work to do but girls are learning and progressing. I have two question for you. First if you could recommend a couple of dvd or books that you feel have helped you most with coaching which would they be? Second, do most of you have the players and mostly the parents sign code of conduct forms. I have couple of parents that drive us crazy. They are always making negative comments and getting after the umps. In our short time I've already been told by umps a couple times that they were close to kicking him out. I just tell them please do. Unfortunately his daughter would not be one we would consider on cutting if going of talent but because of her parents she is on top of the cut list. Is this the right decision have you cut players solely on the parents? I was curious if any of you had code of conduct forms that you'd be willing to share? Sorry a little long winded. Thanks for the help.

Jul 6, 2013
Yes cut because of parents. Yes sign a conduct form. Otherwise, they expect you to compensate them when you do. Don't have form to share. They all went to the organization. Wish I could help on the DVDs or books as far as just being a coach...technical help on drills, etc you can find here on this forum.

10 games in a TB season? We played 9 last weekend. We'll play around 100-125 between the fall and the spring.

Jun 11, 2013