Questions

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 16, 2010
HMiller -
Don't be so defensive - 9 years ago this Spring a friend/principal at a local H.S./Jr. High asked me to coach softball because: 1) we were friends; 2) I played college baseball and 3) she knew as much about softball as me - absolutely nothing. A parent who noticed I had the pitcher covering on a bunt suggested that I get help & I did. I'm still learning every day and recently discovered this forum as another great resource to add to my thousands of dollars worth of videos, books, gadgets and training aids. If your team is truly a "select" team - you will be subject to great scrutiny both on field and off. These parents will have invested thousands in their DD and will expect you to be all things to all people, especially their baby girl. Heck, I'm a veteran trial prosecutor and I've been subjected to more scrutiny in my line-up card or whether I called for the bunt, than I ever have in prosecuting a murdering, drug dealing thug.

Now here is the upside as I see it. God blessed me with 4 daughters. I only discovered softball after my oldest was already in H.S. and a cheerleader. My younger three play and love the game. As far as I can tell, there are very few things Dads and Daughters can TRULY ENJOY together and grow in together like softball. Take advantage of that, grow in the game and enjoy. Don't ever stop learning. I look forward to seeing and talking to you in this forum.

Jul 9, 2010
Heck, I'm a veteran trial prosecutor and I've been subjected to more scrutiny in my line-up card or whether I called for the bunt, than I ever have in prosecuting a murdering, drug dealing thug.