Providence College

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 15, 2008
Cape Cod Mass.
Today I took a ride to Providence College in Rhode Island to watch their team play. It was the first time I had been there. I took my pocket radar and my video camera as I always do. The bullpens were screened in but the home one had a hill next to it and I could see one side pretty good so I started filming. There was a tall rangy guy in there working with pitchers. I worked my down the hill to try and get some shots through a gap in the screening at the back of the pen. The head coach and pitching coach came right over and asked me who I was and what I was doing. I immediately apologized and told them that I was a pitching coach on Cape Cod and that I also coached varsity and 14U travel teams and that I took video to show my students. That satisfied them, the pitching coach asked me if I had ever worked for Bill Belichick, which relieved my sense of alarm. I chatted with him a little about the state of high school softball in general. When they introduced the players and coaches I learned that the guy I talked to was Bill Hillhouse. He was a lot bigger than I thought, I've seen those pictures where he's flying off the mound and figured him for about 6ft, not so.