Problem With Rawlings Catcher's Mitt

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 28, 2010
The webbing on my daughter's Rawlings mitt looks funky like it has collapsed. I wonder if this is not a good situation for receiving/fielding? It has the open "H" style web. I wonder if going to a solid webbing would prevent this from happening?

Picture002-1.jpg

Picture001-1.jpg

Anyone have any suggestions for a 32-33 FP mitt to replace it?

Jan 28, 2010
Mitt Problems

Well she catches ok with it but sometimes she "flubs" the ball and I wonder if that webbing being out of sorts may cause her some problems.

May 7, 2008
Tucson
You know who can tell you, is Bretman. He repairs gloves. But, that looks good to me. I think that is how the pocket is supposed to be.

Mar 13, 2010
One thing I've been told since I started playing is a poor workman always blames his tools.

Of course I cried for weeks when my 15 year old mitt got stolen. I loved that mitt, it was like my hand. My current glove is three years old and is still hard to break in.

Her mitt looks fine to me. That is how it's meant to be on gloves. They're not supposed to be perfect.

Mar 13, 2010
Columbus, Ohio
I do see quite a few "H" webs that get bent out of shape, compared to other web styles. It just seems to be "the nature of the beast". The "H" web has fewer connecting points with the glove than do full webs and, where it does connect, the connection is only strands of lace without any real overlap of the web and shell.

Normally I would consider something like this as a cosmetic defect and not one that should affect the actual function of the glove. But then again, I'm not the person that has to use it!