Hitters hammer drill

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 17, 2009
there is so much information here, i have done nothing but read and read. i have several questions but i was wondering if there is
a video or pictures of girls using the hammer. i have girls that grasp it better when they see other girls doing it, instead of "coach" showing us what to do.
does Hitter closely follow other instructors ex. Mike Epstein or thru years of coaching and trial and error. i see a lot of the same
advice given by different people but using different terms. i have learned a lot

Aug 1, 2008
ohio
The hammer drill you can work on different things. It also can help different parts of the swing.

I believe Howard is in Pittsburg this weekend with Crystal. He will probably fill in the blanks when he gets back.

I am a union carpenter, so will explain part of it.

Try swinging a hammer with you arm and hit a block of wood - use no wrist. Hit it 4 or 5 times. Bend at the elbow raise it a foot or so and hit the wood. You really wont feel the weight of the hammer head.

Now set the hammer head on the wood and use your wrist only, pick it up 8 - 10 inches and hit the wood. You will feel the weight of the hammer head, and your wrist will cock. Feel the cock of the wrist.

Take the hammer out of your hand, and replace it with a bat. Cock your wrist and release the bat like you just did the hammer.
That is the wrist cock. Feel the bat end..

Now hit a ball off the tee. Cock your wrists a bit take a normal swing off the tee and release your wrists and bat head to the ball. That is part of the feeling a hammer gives you.

There are other reasons for the hammer drill and will let Howard explain them.

Straightleg

May 17, 2009
i was wondering the same one or two hands, and if they did it standing like they were batting like the pic. amy had. thanks for the feedback.

Aug 1, 2008
ohio