Heat or ice???

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
Starting a new thread from the ice comments on 'How many innings'.

My DD was hurt 'rotator cuff' a few weeks ago. We went to the best Orthopedic Surgeon in TN. He said they are doing research now that HEAT is much better than ice after pitching. ( or any athletics )

I'm going to try to type what and why he told me this. He said the ice fools your body by quickly shrinking the tissues. ( meaning your body thinks it doesn't need to repair ) But the heat makes your system think their is fever in the area and send the 'repair team' to see what the problem is.

He has been working with Level 10 cheerleaders and their injuries. He said he has been able to reduce injury time from 4-6 weeks down to 1-2 weeks with heat treatments.

I am not a doctor.......just asking if anyone has had similar advice. Too stay away from ice.

P.S. I know Mudbug is going to say "going to the best doctor in TN, is like having the best snow blower in Florida". :)

Last edited:
May 7, 2008
DFW
Different discussion.

My comments about the Ice were in terms of prevention of inflammation after pitching. Not in relationship to injury. In terms of injury the rule has always been Ice for the first 48 to 72 hours to reduce swelling then use heat.

We have been using ice on athletes for decades to reduce swelling. In MLB every pitcher ices after the use their arms. Same in college and with Olympic athletics. Pro football players sit in tubs of ice after games.

All to reduce swelling.

Dana.

Jan 18, 2010
In your face
My comments about the Ice were in terms of prevention of inflammation after pitching. Not in relationship to injury. In terms of injury the rule has always been Ice for the first 48 to 72 hours to reduce swelling then use heat.