Going to Interview for Varsity Softball Position Monday

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 22, 2012
So one week from today I will be going in for an interview for an open varsity softball position at a school in town. I have been the boys baseball JV head coach for the past three years at a different school, but previously I had been an assistant coach for a 14U travel softball team (I am a teacher and had played baseball as a kid, and that was the only position open when I was hired).

Anyway, I has hoping I could get some advice from some of the people on here about what kind of materials I should get prepared for my interview. Will the AD want a practice schedule, how we practice, fundraising ideas, etc. (and if there is something they are looking to hear, PLEASE LET ME KNOW). Also, if you know of anything that might come up in the interview, questions or scenario wise, that would be great to know too.

I am very anxious and hope that I am prepared, but any help anyone has would be greatly appreciated.

Mar 13, 2010
Will the AD want a practice schedule, how we practice, fundraising ideas, etc.

Yes, yes, yes and yes. It probably wouldn't hurt to go with signals, ideas on how to grow the girls skills as well. Better to be overpreapered then under right?

Oct 22, 2012
Hahaha, very true. Do you think the interview will be more about the game of softball itself (my ability to coach) or more on how to actually run a program?

Mar 7, 2012
PA
I brought anything and everything when I interviewed for my high school coachig position. Practice plans, drills, softball resume. They didn't ask for much other than my experience and how I would handle specific situtations but were impressed by all that I prepared. (if you don;t need it than oh well but you would rather that happen than you need something and not have it).

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas