emergency pitching need

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 13, 2010
There are some similar posts to this on the site but I'm new to it and I didn't find an "emergency" post like this when I searched.

I'm helping coach a recreational level (what we call town ball) girls 12U softball team. We have one pitcher who pitched for us last year at 10U and worked with a pitching coach a bit but gave it up. She is really our only pitcher that can throw strikes. Since she's limited to 4 innings per game we're really in a pinch to get some other girls to pitch. My daughter is a good athlete so of course the other coaches would like it if she'd try pitching. Even though this is not travel I'm still a coach that is into making sure the girls learn good fundamentals. I've been all over the web searching for beginning pitching tips/techniques and I've seen alot about the commitment it takes to learn a proper windmill. My daughter would like to help the team yet soccer and basketball are more of her favorite sports so she isn't willing to dedicate herself to softball pitching by putting in hours of practice.

I guess my question of you more experienced pitching coaches is....is there any chance of training these girls in a month to be able to throw strikes? We've already decided our strategy has to be for the girls to throw strikes (speed doesn't matter) and strengthen our defense because walks are bad and we aren't going to have a lights out pitcher.

I likely will be the one to work with any of the girls that want to try pitching as I'm the only female coach and only one with previous softball experience (although it was in the late 70' and I did play fastpitch but it was not as sophisticated as it is now :) so if anyone has suggestions of what to focus on first that would be great.

Thanks,
Lisa

Jan 27, 2010