Do we play 23U ball?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
Here's an odd question. We have a group of girls who have essentially finished their competitive softball careers, but still want to play a little more fastpitch before moving into slow pitch softball. The thought was play two tournaments in June for fun, then be done.

We were going to go into 18U again, but have come across a couple of other girls who would like to play but have aged out. So we thought maybe of going 23U, which would also give us access to a couple more pitchers.

My question is, what is 23U like? Is it filled with players who are just there to have a good time and play ball, or is it filled with serious college players looking to hone their skills and get ready for next season? I have no experience with that level so will be interested to hear.

Jan 15, 2009
Midwest
I think it depends on the area.

We did tried to do it one year and it was really hard to get enough players and then find tournaments that were a "go". I think we only ended up doing one tournament. The next year DD just filled in for a team that got together for just one tournament.

Overall, the teams were players that wanted to play a little ball and basically have a good time. There were a few that were just trying to stay "in tune" for their college season.

For most of the 23Us, it sounds good when it is being planned out, but in reality things come up and a lot of the players who said they wanted to play just couldn't work it into their schedules.

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
Unfortunately, you are correct. Many people involved in JO don't buy this, but young ladies not playing college ball tend to have other interests that they could not or were not allowed to have when playing travel ball.